Decoding Life Until Death: As I See It.

Masaan (Fly away solo) was an Indo – French Co-Production movie, released worldwide in 2015. The movie grabbed two awards at Cannes Film Festival. 

Masaan is a hindi term used for the cremation ground, a place were dead bodies are cremated. 

I must hereby make it clear that I have no obvious reasons to give the movie reviews (I’m not a movie critic either). 

I intend to share my personal views as I see this magnificent creation for the fourth time. In fact just a portion of my views as penning down everything will be little difficult.

A thing of little concern or importance would never find a place in your subconscious mind. And I would like to make an attempt to give my share of tribute to the movie which must, to some extent, impact how you see life.

Masaan (The cremation ground) : A place where a life ends and at the same time it marks the subsequent beginning of an another life somewhere at distant corners of the world or may be the Universe (If Science says so). 

So, Ideally, right from the moment a child is out of it’s mother’s womb to the moment it is cremated or it dies, what so ever happens in between is Life.

But if only life could have been this easily defined by drawing a straight line between two dots. It’s a topography.

Masaan would might have been the story of few people trying to survive a small town morality, trying to decode the puzzles of life and death, happiness and sorrows. 

But what about reminding ourselves of a crude fact that it could be the stage where anyone of us might someday would play our part? 

A little enlightenment will do?

A person, as soon as he is born, starts taking up the charge of self-sustainability in his subconscious mind. Self-sustainability as not only in case of financially and emotionally but spiritually as well.

A tree can not grow on its own. It needs someone to water it on time, protect it, make it grow.

But we as a human were distinctly created by the God. 

We may master ourselves and sustain spiritually or emotionally on our own. 

Our teachers or their teachings may not necessarily be blamed for our good or bad deeds. 

Unlike trees and animals, we humans are gifted with the power of conscience. 

We supposedly use our in-built conscience before we decide to perform an act.

An adult’s decision to consume alcohol, an adult’s decision to follow what so ever religion he wants to, a couple mutually deciding to get into an Act of intimacy (love making), or an adult deciding to marry who so ever he wants to marry is completely a decision taken as per one’s own conscience.
If Shri Bhagawad Geeta is to be believed and followed, One’s karma is independent from that of other’s and karma is never eternal
Your next karma will always mitigate or make up with your previous karma. 

Eventually, Karma is a continuous process of additions and substractions.

No karma of ours gives right to a fellow individual to torture you for an act done in past. 

And the moment you know that your karma belongs to you and so is it’s consequences, you will want no body else to play a role in reminding you or torturing you of your past. 

It will lead you to a guilt free life.

Life will have lots of Ups and even more Downs but what keeps a person going with same dignity and strength as always is keeping his soul free from the guilt. 

It is soul that never dies even after the cremation. A guilt that was given a place in our mind while we were alive, lingers to the soul even after death and that is against the nature of life and death. 

What happened during a lifetime, must end with the death.

Two visible dots may not necessary connect. But this is why society exists for. They connect dots, they establish relationship even if it doesn’t actually relate. It will keep torturing you for the actions you never intended until you don’t agree to them.

But that’s not why we are given a life for. We are given a life, so that, we never give up finding new dots. 

And those dots, when we find them, we may not necessarily discover them waiting for us to come and connect but somehow, across the journey, connecting to those randomly found dots while ignoring the naysayers, will mark the journey complete on the day of our cremation, our death.

I will quote a beautiful line from the Movie Masaan itself :
Ulta kar ke dekh sake toh, Ambar bhi hai gehri khai. ”
Which means, try standing upside down in a ground and you will see the sky as a deep valley.

It’s our perceptions that define our lives, as we live it, as we see it.

Give it a thought. 😊

Pic Credits : Anonymous

55 thoughts on “Decoding Life Until Death: As I See It.

    • Thanks Cat. It’s been great going through your posts as well in last few days. And I hear you. Not going anywhere. Not now. I will keep Writing. I don’t really write happy posts, but I hope readers may find them little realistic. 😊😊
      And I must follow your blogspot link as well. 😇

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh Cat !! First of all, Thank you so much. And you gotta trust me, I mean this thank you.
        Because it is a special comment.
        My only purpose now is to encourage people to do something/to learn from what I have learnt. And seeing a little progress in this dream, makes me happy to an unimaginable extent. 😍❤

        Much Love,
        Anushka

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Sometimes its good to not to have all answers for the life and I am not against searching for answer either just that one shouldn’t push self to edge for answers on after death, during life etc. We shouldn’t blame karma if we are going through tough times, may be that tough time is meant, we need to remember King Siddartha felt bad that’s when Buddha evolved and King Ashoka saw the human sorrows that’s when a great human being he became. We should stop decoding and enjoy the turns of life, help others if possible and no hard rule on helping because I strongly the more independent one become the near he or she would be reaching the purpose of their birth.

    Excellent post and love your thinking. Keep thinking and trust me it is a great feeling to lost in thoughts…

    Liked by 2 people

    • I agree to everything you quoted. We must not blame our karma for our tough times. May be that tough time was our chance to evolve, better and stronger. Appreciate your words, Raghav. Thank you so much. 😊😇

      Like

  2. I see in you a child author brimming with ideas, bursting with questions, flowering with touches of beauty. Your writing can be mesmerising, your words can raise doubts, your sentences can inspire and your paragraphs can guide. Keep reading, keep experiencing keep writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Firstly, I must say you have picked a really apt movie to express your thoughts on death and the path after death. I have myself seen it twice and may be forced to watch it again after this outstanding blog post which co-relates your thoughts with the movie. Kudos to your thought process and writing abilities and keep writing more!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Some years ago, I watched Barfi, and there is a beautiful short poem in the movie:

    Happiness is found in the little things, even for a bowl of water is enough for ships to sail in, and if you truly believe, even paper birds can take flight.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Anushka!!! Your website story, “Masaan,” on Shri Bhagawad Geeta & one’s personal Karma is deep in thought!!! And THANK YOU for finding & “Following” of my excuseusforliving.com. You seem to be w wonderful person looking over your website & other blob posts! Phil

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Hello,
    Pleasure to meet you, I wanted to stop by and say thank you for visiting my blog page and having a follow. I appreciate the support and hope that you find interest in my topics. I enjoyed this particular blog post and I am looking forward to reading more in the future.

    Shay-lon

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Love this post, especially this:

    “But that’s not why we are given a life for. We are given a life, so that, we never give up finding new dots. ”

    And I agree with you that perception is everything… Thank you for a thought-provoking post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a great compliment from your side. And I loved the deep analysis that you did. I’m glad to hear you found it a thought provoking post.
      That was the purpose of writing this post.
      Thank you so much for your kind words.

      — Anushka

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hello, Hedonist! You liked a couple of our posts, and we’d like to say thank you! There are three of us – Roy (me), Sara Jane and Ceannt. We do art, silly things, we love good music and all of us write. But we wanted to see what your WP was about and we’re not disappointed. I wanted to comment that no matter what the world does to us, we are innocent until we embrace what the world condemns us to. If you, or anyone has been told that you’re evil, that’s a big word and is likely not to be true in 99.99% of the cases. Our hearts cry out when confined by the idiotic ideas of religion, culture, business, politics or money. These things are artificial and aren’t a part of human nature. The writer Injannashi pointed the way over 100 years ago; he may have paved the road for Gandhi’s development of satyagriha and ahimsa.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish we had an option in WP to love a comment. You have spoken my mind. And you have put everything so beautifully that me adding any single word to your comment will be a repetition.
      It is a stupid world. It judges you, tags you.
      My whole idea of ahimsa is not to get influenced with the hinsa and not to welcome it.
      I’m so glad I have connected with you. Your ideas have impressed me. I’m looking forward to communicate more on blogosphere.
      Keep well and blessed. 😊

      – Anushka

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! We’re following you now; just keep in mind that we’re sometimes not here for a few days, but we do our best to keep up with people……and to make posts as well. Be well and at peace, and may all that is good go with you!

        Roy, Sara Jane and Ceannt

        Liked by 1 person

      • Greetings to three of you ! I will be looking at this place for you people whenever you all are back here.
        I wish the best to come your way.
        Have a great day ahead.
        Stay well..three of you. 😊

        Like

  9. Hi! I love your blog. I’ve just started my first film review blog and would really appreciate it if you could take the time to check it out because you clearly know what you’re doing! Any feedback would be awesome as well. Thank you so much!

    reelviewsbysara.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sara. Hope you are doing great. I guess there is some WP issue as I am unable to find your site. Link you have shared leads me to nowhere. Request you to check If there is anything from your side. Thanks a ton in advance.

      -Anushka

      Like

      • Thanks, I hope you’re doing well too. That’s very strange, that’s the correct link I gave you.. it’s been working for everyone else thus far. Thanks for trying anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. The wife and I really love this blog and appreciate the creativity and imagery you provide. We would like to encourage you to keep writing and never abandon this blog. I appreciate the hard work you have put into this blog and wish you all future success in business and in life.

    Thank you for your time, it is the most precious thing we all possess.
    -Jacque’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment